Cities characters

Bourges proud capital of Berry

Historic capital of Berry, Bourges is known for its historical heritage. A Gothic cathedral is nestled in the heart of a historic preserved and full of good addresses. Witness the history of France, the city has seen a few kings and great men such as Charles VII, Jean de Berry and Jacques Heart, fascinating characters that have strongly influenced the city of Bourges. The city is also known for its famous music festival.

Gargilesse village of artists and character

Gargilesse hidden in the hollow of the river that gave it its name. The charm of the houses clustered around the castle and Romanesque church which form a simple and harmonious whole. George Sand was the first artist to succumb to the charm of this village before many others. Artisans arts, impressionist and contemporary painters came, like her, a refuge and create and so make a “Village of artists.” Gargilesse is a village where time seems to be down, away from the story. Gargilesse is one of the most beautiful villages of France.

The town of Argenton-sur-Creuse

“Venice of the Berry” Argenton-sur-Creuse is a welcoming and dynamic city, whose downtown shopping very blends perfectly with the authenticity of the old districts.
A tourist route takes you from the place of the city center to the streets and alleys of old. The old mill wheel and old houses with galleries and balustrade still contribute to the charm of picturesque walks along the banks of the Creuse.

A scenic point of view from the esplanade of the Good Lady can admire the landscape of steep green hills of the valley of the Creuse.

Tourist office : http://www.ot-argenton-sur-creuse.fr/evenements.php

St Benoît du Sault, The Medieval

At the intersection of Berry and Limousin, Saint Benoît du Sault is perched on a granite boulder overlooking the river. This medieval town was inhabited by Benedictine monks. Behind its walls, you can walk through its steep streets to discover its charming houses of fifteenth and sixteenth century, its church and its priory but the valley of the Portfolio on which the village has a nice view.

Cités de caractères

Bourges fière capitale du Berry

Capitale historique du Berry, la ville de Bourges est reconnue pour son patrimoine historique. Sa cathédrale gothique est dressée au cœur d’un quartier historique préservé et rempli de bonnes adresses. Témoin de l’Histoire de France, la ville a vu passer quelques rois et grands hommes tels Charles VII, Jean de Berry ou Jacques Cœur, personnages passionnants qui ont fortement marqué la ville de Bourges. La ville est aussi connue pour son festival de la musique.

Gargilesse, village d’artistes et de caractère

Gargilesse cache, au creux de la rivière qui lui a donné son nom, le charme de ses maisons serrées autour du château et de l’église romane qui forme un ensemble simple et harmonieux. George Sand fut la première artiste à succomber au charme de ce village avant beaucoup d’autres. Artisans d’arts, peintres impressionnistes ou contemporains vinrent, comme elle, s’y réfugier et créer et ainsi en faire un « Village d’artistes ». Gargilesse est un village où le temps semble comme arrêté, à l’écart de l’histoire. Gargilesse fait partie des Plus beaux villages de France.

La ville d’Argenton-sur-Creuse

Surnommée « la Venise du Berry », Argenton-sur-Creuse est une ville accueillante et dynamique, dont le centre ville très commerçant s’harmonise parfaitement avec l‘authenticité des vieux quartiers.
Un parcours touristique vous mènera de la place du centre ville vers les rues et ruelles d’autrefois. Les vieux moulins à roue et les anciennes maisons à galeries et à balustrade contribuent toujours au charme très pittoresque des balades le long des bords de Creuse.

Un point de vue panoramique depuis l’esplanade de la Bonne Dame permet d’admirer le paysage aux collines escarpées et verdoyantes de la vallée de la Creuse.

Office de tourisme : http://www.ot-argenton-sur-creuse.fr/evenements.php

St Benoît du Sault, La Médiévale

Au carrefour du Berry et du Limousin, le village de Saint Benoît du Sault est perché sur un rocher granitique en surplomb de la rivière. Cette ancienne cité médiévale était habitée par des moines bénédictins. Derrière ses remparts, vous pourrez vous balader à travers ses ruelles pentues, à la découverte de ses demeures charmantes des XVème et XVIème siècle, de son église et de son prieuré mais aussi de la vallée du Portefeuille sur laquelle le village offre une jolie vue.